How to Delete iPhone Data and Settings
Delete iPhone Data and Settings: There are a few circumstances in which you’ll want to delete your iPhone data and settings, restoring the phone to its factory condition. But why would you want to delete all data and settings?
For example, you would like to sell or give the iPhone away, or your device is being sent for repairs and you don’t want your personal data available to prying eyes. You might want to erase everything and factory reset your smartphone to repair any issues you could be having with the phone.
You can remove all content and settings from your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch by tapping Erase All Content and Settings in Settings > General > Reset. If possible, connect your iPhone to a charger and leave it connected until the process is complete.
To remove all data and settings from your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, backup the data on iTunes and iCloud so that you will be able to recover it later. Next, tap Settings > General > Reset > Erase all Content and Settings.
After you select to Erase All Content and Settings, the process can take from a few minutes to several hours. The time this process takes will vary by iOS devices that support hardware encryption. If the process erases user settings and information by removing the encryption key that protects the data, it will only take a few minutes.
If a device overwrites user settings and information, writing a series of ones to the data partition, the process can take several hours. This will depends on the storage capacity of your iPod touch or iPhone. During this time, the device displays the Apple logo and a progress bar. Deleting all the data is a drastic step, but whichever process you choose, always begin by syncing your device to your computer.
Since this creates a backup of all your data you’ll be able to restore your data and settings. To erase your iPhone data when it’s synced, click the Restore button in the Version section of the iPhone management screen, and follow the onscreen instructions.