“Trust This Computer Alert” on iPhone, iPad or iPod
The Trust This Computer alert on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch is a feature which alerts you when you connect your device to a new computer attempting to access the files of your iOS device. In this case, you’ll see an alert asking you to verify that you trust the connected device. If you tap Trust, you’ll allow this device to access files stored on your iOS device. If the iOS device is passcode locked, you’ll need to unlock it before you can see the alert.
The trusted computer or device can access the files and settings of your iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad. This computer can sync with your iOS device, access movies and videos, contacts, import photos, and more, until you disconnect. The data stored on your iOS device isn’t accessible before you enter your passcode and choose to trust the connected computer or device.
To trust a computer:
- Connect your computer or other device to the iOS device (unlock the iOS device if it is locked).
- Tap Trust.
- Click Accept if you’re about to sync your iOS device with iTunes.
If you tap Trust, the computer will be trusted until you remove trust from all computers or you erase the device. If you tap Don’t Trust, you’ll see this alert each time you connect your device to that computer. If the user chooses not to trust the connected computer, the computer will charge your device, but the connected computer won’t be able to access any content on the iOS device.
When using iOS 8 or later, to remove trust from all computers, tap Settings > General > Reset > Reset Location & Privacy. This action will also reset location and privacy settings. Users can also remove trust from all computers by tapping Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings. This will also reset your network settings.