Apple iPod

iPod Touch: Getting Ready to Sell

iPod Touch: Getting Ready to Sell
iPod Touch: Getting Ready to Sell

iPod Touch: Getting Ready to Sell

You’ve got a new iPod touch and now you want to sell your old device, since you don’t need it any more. Good idea! However, you should do the following before you sell it:

Before You Sell Your Old iPod Touch Online: Identify it first. You can find out which iPod generation you have by the model number and other details. Look for the details on the generations, models, technical specs, colors as well as other features on the Apple support page.

Restore your iPod touch: Restoring it will erase the iPod’s hard drive and reload the original software. (This puts it back to its default settings for the new owner). Be sure you back it up before you restore! If you have music or videos on your iPod touch that aren’t on iTunes, you will lose them all if you have forgotten to back it up before restoring. To restore, use the Reset All Settings option under Setting-General-Reset. Once the restore is complete, follow the on-screen instructions to name the iPod. You do not want to automatically sync your musical and video files onto the fresh installation, so be sure to uncheck the box beside the sync automatically instruction. Once you press Done, the iPod will default to manual mode and remain empty. At that point, the new owner has free reign to adjust the settings to whatever they please.

To restore, use the Reset All Settings option under Setting-General-Reset. Once the restore is complete, follow the on-screen instructions to name the iPod. You do not want to automatically sync your musical and video files onto the fresh installation, so be sure to uncheck the box beside the sync automatically instruction. Once you press Done, the iPod will default to manual mode and remain empty. At that point, the new owner has free reign to adjust the settings to whatever they please.

If you want to restore the iPod touch to its factory settings, just connect it to iTunes and click your iPod’s name. Then click the Restore button on the right side of the screen, where it lists your iPod’s information. iTunes will download the firmware again and will restore it automatically. The download is about 200-250 MB in size.

Because there’s no connection between your iPod touch and your iTunes Store account, the new owner will not have any access to your iTunes account. (Unless, of course, you gave the new owner your account ID and password.)

If you want to sell your old device on iGotOffer, go online and choose the type and model you want to sell, as well as indicate its technical characteristics and general condition. Once you have agreed with our evaluation and offer, you will want to download and print the prepaid (and fully insured) shipping label that we provide. This label will be available on the order confirmation page immediately and will also be attached to your order confirmation email.

Once you have completed the online prompts and printed your shipping label, simply pack up your device and mail!

WARNING: BEFORE YOU SELL your OLD IPOD TOUCH: REMOVE ALL SETTINGS

You may want to remove all settings and information before you sell your old iPod touch online. To erase your iPod, do the following: Tap Erase All Content and Settings, in Settings > General > Reset > Erase all Content and Settings. Wait for a few minutes. Depending on the storage capacity of your iPod touch, this process can vary with the amount of time it takes to complete. You should see the Apple logo, as well as a progress bar while it is erasing the data.

Note: Remember to connect your iPod touch to a charger before you start the procedure and leave it connected until the process is complete.

AFTER YOU SELL YOUR IPOD TOUCH:

After you sell your iPod touch and buy yourself a new one, you can easily install the backup of your old iPod touch settings and content. If you choose to restore your settings from a backup, choose whether you want to use your iTunes or iCloud account. At this point, you will need to either set up a new Apple ID, or sign in to your existing account in order to complete the restore.

WHAT IS “DEVICE FIRMWARE UPDATE”?

Device Firmware Update (DFU) mode works on iPod touch. DFU mode is where your iPod can interface with iTunes, but it does not load the iPod touch operating system or boot loader. (This is what really differs DFU mode from recovery mode). If you’ve entered into DFU mode, your iPod touch will show up in iTunes, but the display will be black. Remember: if you see anything at all on your display, you haven’t entered DFU mode.

Good luck and bonne chance!

­See also:

  • Apple Encyclopedia: all information about products, electronic devices, operating systems and apps from iGotOffer.com experts.
  • iGotOffer.com: the best place to sell your old iPod online. Top cash guaranteed. Free quote and free shipping. BBB A+ rated business.
Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Apple iPod

More in Apple iPod

©2017 iGotOffer.com. All Rights Reserved. iGotOffer.com is not affiliated with the manufacturers of the items available for trade-in. iGotOffer.com is trademarks of Best Video Studio LLC, registered in the U.S. All other trademarks, logos and brands are the property of their respective owners.